our books.

word west aims to publish exciting new works of fiction, poetry, non-fiction and whatever else we feel like. from the best authors in the west and beyond.

collective gravities

chloe n. clark

best book of 2020 (NPR)

a "small-press gem" (Publisher's Weekly)

"Like Kelly Link channeling Ray Bradbury."

— Jason Heller, NPR Books

"I loved these stories and I loved Clark’s deeply hopeful voice.”

— Amber Sparks, And I Do Not Forgive You

"...a writer of terrific imagination and insight.”

— Sara Lippmann, Doll Palace

"...a delightful, genre-bending kaleidoscope."

— Kendra Fortmeyer, Hole in the Middle

"...so good, so fabulous, and so necessary."

— Juan Martinez, Best Worst American

july 7, 2020

not i

sebastian castillo

"I didn't want this book to end."

— Chelsea Hodson, Tonight I'm Someone Else

"In the tradition of Anne Carson, Aaron Kunin, Édouard Levé...Castillo works magic."

— Wayne Koestenbaum, Figure It Out

september 15, 2020

no good for digging: stories

dustin m. hoffman

"Few writers working today care as deeply for their characters." 

— Matt Bell, A Tree or a Person or a Wall

“...an ardent love letter to the Midwest.” 

— Anne Valente, author of The Desert Sky Before Us

"...a Sherwood Anderson for our time."

— Seth Fried, The Municipalists

"An elegy to the theory and practice and meaning of work."

— William Lychack, Cargill Falls

"...a writer who deserves our attention."

— Donald Ray Pollock, The Devil All the Time

december 3, 2019

secrets of the wild

dustin m. hoffman

“...surreal, funny, and terrifically endearing.” 

— Michelle Ross, There's So Much They Haven't Told You

“Hoffman doesn’t just bend genres, he twists them into balloon animals.” 

— Adam Schuitema, Haymaker

november 5, 2019

dawg towne: a novel

alice kaltman

june 1, 2021

 Alice Kaltman is a writer and surfer who splits her time between Brooklyn and Montauk, New York. She is the author of STAGGERWING  a collection of stories from Tortoise Books . Her work appears or is forthcoming in numerous places including Whiskey Paper, Hobart, Storychord, Longform Fiction, the Atticus Review, Chicago Literati and Joyland. Her website is pretty. She likes Twitter more than Facebook, but trolls around both sites more than she’d like to admit.

a study of frustration: poems

dillon thomas jones

2021

Dillon Thomas Jones is a writer living in Pittsburgh, PA. He holds a BA in English (Creative Writing) from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and is an MFA in Creative Writing candidate at the University of Pittsburgh. He writes poetry, fiction, and cultural criticism about television, film, and books. He is currently at work on a memoir about growing up the adopted and black only son of a white single mother in Omaha, NE. Contact him at dillon.jones6@gmail.com

word west 2021 chapbook series

beautiful, violent things

madeline anthes

spectacles

shome dasgupta

the clarity of hunger

cheryl pappas

it's hard to say

claire hopple

submissions are currently closed.

let's talk.

195 broadway
brooklyn, ny 11211

hello@wordwest.co

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

© 2020 by word west llc.