our books.

word west aims to publish exciting new works of fiction, poetry, non-fiction and whatever else we feel like. from the best authors in the west and beyond.

collective gravities

chloe n. clark

GCCoverFinal.png

best book of 2020 (NPR, The Brooklyn Rail)

a "small-press gem" (Publisher's Weekly)

"Like Kelly Link channeling Ray Bradbury."

— Jason Heller, NPR Books

"I loved these stories and I loved Clark’s deeply hopeful voice.”

— Amber Sparks, And I Do Not Forgive You

"...a writer of terrific imagination and insight.”

— Sara Lippmann, Doll Palace

"...a delightful, genre-bending kaleidoscope."

— Kendra Fortmeyer, Hole in the Middle

"...so good, so fabulous, and so necessary."

— Juan Martinez, Best Worst American

july 7, 2020

not i

sebastian castillo

IMG_7526.JPG

"I didn't want this book to end."

— Chelsea Hodson, Tonight I'm Someone Else

"In the tradition of Anne Carson, Aaron Kunin, Édouard Levé...Castillo works magic."

— Wayne Koestenbaum, Figure It Out

september 15, 2020

no good for digging: stories

dustin m. hoffman

No Good Cover Pre-Order.png

"Few writers working today care as deeply for their characters." 

— Matt Bell, A Tree or a Person or a Wall

“...an ardent love letter to the Midwest.” 

— Anne Valente, author of The Desert Sky Before Us

"...a Sherwood Anderson for our time."

— Seth Fried, The Municipalists

"An elegy to the theory and practice and meaning of work."

— William Lychack, Cargill Falls

"...a writer who deserves our attention."

— Donald Ray Pollock, The Devil All the Time

december 3, 2019

secrets of the wild

dustin m. hoffman

Secretsebookcover.jpg

“...surreal, funny, and terrifically endearing.” 

— Michelle Ross, There's So Much They Haven't Told You

“Hoffman doesn’t just bend genres, he twists them into balloon animals.” 

— Adam Schuitema, Haymaker

november 5, 2019

dawg towne: a novel

alice kaltman

june 1, 2021

 "DAWG TOWNE yowls, bristles, romps, and all but licks your face, as vivacious as its characters, canine and otherwise. Alice Kaltman is one of those writers whose clear enjoyment of the task at hand beams through every phrase she makes." 

— Rachel Lyon, Self-Portrait With Boy

a study of frustration: poems

dillon thomas jones

2021

Dillon Thomas Jones is a writer living in Pittsburgh, PA. He holds a BA in English (Creative Writing) from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and is an MFA in Creative Writing candidate at the University of Pittsburgh. He writes poetry, fiction, and cultural criticism about television, film, and books. He is currently at work on a memoir about growing up the adopted and black only son of a white single mother in Omaha, NE. Contact him at dillon.jones6@gmail.com

word west 2021 chapbook series

beautiful, violent things

madeline anthes

spectacles

shome dasgupta

the clarity of hunger

cheryl pappas

it's hard to say

claire hopple

earthling

doris w. cheng

 

grown ocean

matt mitchell

 

submissions are currently closed.